🍿 Roadgames

🍿Roadgames

I’m glad I got to see this one. I remember the VHS box intriguing me as a kid. And as a kid I loved this director’s other Hitchcock pastiche Cloak and Dagger, though I didn’t realize he’d directed it until recently.

Frequently described as Rear Window in a truck. While that’s true, I think the film is better described as a mashup of the breezy protagonists from Young and Innocent and the sleaze of Frenzy.

If that sounds like a weird combo, well, it is. But the film holds these parts together pretty well.

Also, I appreciated the technical aspects of the movie. The in-truck cinematography, the camera movements around the edges of the cab, the editing. I’ve always loved Hitch’s technical experiments and this film really tries to capture that aspect of his style.

Ian Whitney @ian_whitney