🌮 Valerie's Taqueria

Frequently mentioned on lists of great Minneapolis tacos, Valerie’s is a couple of blocks off of Lake Street, around the corner from the butcher shop from which it sprang.

Tacos are $3.50 and are quite a good deal for the price. These are not tiny tacos. Not so big that you need to use a fork, but big enough that picking them up can be a slight challenge. A solid 4-5 bites per taco.

Based on my sampling it’s hard to go wrong at here. I ordered three tacos: lengua, barbacoa, and chorizo. Eaten in that order they started off delicious and only got better as I went along. I want to highlight the chorizo, which is clearly made in house, for having a super-forward cinnamon flavor that I found surprising and delightful.

Available salsas are a creamy verde and rojo, neither of which are spicy. The rojo has bright, fresh tomato flavor that went really well with the chorizo.

Ian Whitney @ian_whitney