Tomatillo Taco Truck 🌮

🌮 Tomatillo Taco Truck

This one was parked downtown, near 9th Street and 2nd Ave. I had not seen it before, but it’s not like I get downtown that often.

I chose the carnitas tacos for $9 (almost $10 after tax). It doesn’t look like you can mix and match, but maybe you can if you ask.

I was surprised to get two tacos. For $10 I figured three. But inflation hits tacos too, I guess. The carnitas were tender, but lacked the crunch & char that I like when I make it at home. I think some salt would have helped as well, the flavor was a little lacking. But the salsa verde was bright, crisp and sour. And the tortillas were nicely done (not made fresh, but warming up tortillas is still an art form).

Sadly the whole thing comes in a giant styrofoam clamshell. I wish this were not the default at so many places.

Ian Whitney @ian_whitney