Savanna Portage State Park

Savanna Lake Sunset

I have visited Savanna Portage State Park 3 times in the past year, twice in summer and once in winter. Every time I am surprised that the park is not more crowded. It’s a perfect fit for my type of outdoorsiness. It might just be a hidden gem.

Though you can reach the park from the Twin Cities in under 3 hours it still feels very remote. Unlike Lake Carlos, there are no towns of significant size nearby. McGregor, the closest town, is a 15 mile drive and has a population of 391 (but it does feature a bait shop/liquor store for visiting fishers). The Big Sandy lake resorts aren’t far away geographically, but they feel a world away. The park is silent and cell phone reception is almost non-existent.

gzW0fO21TKuTD7Xvq7%zbw

Most summer visitors to Savanna Portage are probably there for the lakes. The park contains 4 and I think all of them are limited to low-horsepower motors. So you won’t see roaring pontoon party boats or water skiing here. Instead the lakes are mostly used by fishers, canoe and kayakers.

In winter the lakes still get a lot of use from fishers and snowmobilers. In my one winter visit there weren’t many snowmobilers around, possibly because the lakes weren’t safe. But I’ve heard they can be quite noisy.

IMG_4509

While I love canoeing and fishing I prefer the park’s extensive hiking options. The Continental Divide trail is a must, and I’ve hiked or skied through most of the park’s other trails. They offer a nice mix of easy walking and moderate exertion. The Remote Lake Solitude Area bordering the park offers miles and miles of more hiking.

I have always stayed at the Garni Guesthouse so I have no experience of the main campground on Lake Shumway. But on my walks through it it seemed nice. Not as tightly packed as other lakeside campgrounds I’ve seen. The park also offers a bunch of hike-in and one canoe-in camping sites. I’ve seen some of them on my hikes and they look great if you want a more remote experience.

Bug proof at the Continental Divide

Thanks to all the lakes and bogs the bugs here are atrocious. I always prepare with both DEET and Picaridin and yet I always end up with a whole gang of bug bites. Next time I visit I’m bringing my own mosquito tent. Though I’m not sure how I’ll hike in it.

Ian Whitney @ian_whitney